Presidential Cookie Bake Off, Round 2: Michelle Obama’s White and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Happy Inauguration Day!  As people crowded the National Mall to watch the POTUS take his second oath and hear Beyonce belt out the National Anthem on this chilly January day, I paid tribute in the comfort of my own home by baking a batch of the First Lady’s winning white and dark chocolate chip cookies.

Ever since I baked the delicious winning recipe for the Texas Governor’s Mansion Cowboy Cookies back around the election in November, I knew that I would pay tribute to the winner of the election by baking a batch of this election’s winning cookie recipe come Inauguration Day.  However, when glancing through the ingredients of the recipe, I could not believe this submission was from the same person who started the Let’s Move campaign.  Two sticks (1 cup) of butter and a stick (1 cup) of butter-flavored Crisco??!!  No wonder it beat Ann Romney’s measly one-stick-of-butter M&M cookies.  Well since we do not have the strict workout routine exhibited by Michelle Obama, I cut the butter requirement in half.  Besides, I was sure the cookies would look like pancakes if I mixed in that much butter.

Other than halving the butter, I kept pretty close to the original recipe.  The only other modifications I made were toasting the walnuts and swapping out milk chocolate chips for semi-sweet since that is what we had on hand.

The original recipe is located here at Family Circle and my modified version with less butter, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and toasted walnuts is listed below.

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup (1/2 stick) Crisco butter-flavored solid vegetable shortening
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 cup each white chocolate chips, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and mint chocolate chips
2 cups chopped and toasted walnuts
 
Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.  In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

Using the paddle attachment of a standing mixer, cream butter, vegetable shortening, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla extract.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  On low-speed, beat in flour mixture.

Image

While the original recipe recommends adding the chocolate chips and walnuts and mixing by hand, I took the easier route and used the stir setting on my standing mixer.  I poured in all chocolate chips – white, semi-sweet, and mint – and the two whopping cups of walnuts at the same time, and let the mixer work its magic.

Image

Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto ungreased baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Image

Having taken a month-long hiatus from baking after the holidays, I finally had an opportunity to try out my new cookie sheets and liners that Justin gave me for Christmas.  Very clever of my loving husband.  New baking sheets mean desire to bake more.  Baking more means tasty treats for Justin to eat.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.  My first sheet yielded smaller cookies and baked for 10-11 minutes.  My second sheet yielded heaping tablespoon-sized cookies and baked for 12 minutes.

Image

Now begins the waiting game.  Cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Image

Enjoy!

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Presidential Cookie Bake Off, Round 2: Michelle Obama’s White and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. kpolon January 23, 2013 at 11:24 am Reply

    I can vouch for these! So delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

MY LIMBO REALITY

mignon lecomte

Simple Scratch Cooking

A Guide to Easy, Everyday Meals

wedding withdrawal

paper crafts & baked goods

The Sweet Life

baking, Boston, and the pursuit of happiness

The Honest Toddler

Juice. Crackers. TV.

